It is Possible

Brian Thiem And this JUST IN!!! Your latest ranking for Red Line!

Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #2,790 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
#46 in Kindle Store > Kindle eBooks > Mystery, Thriller & Suspense > Mystery > Police Procedurals
#54 in Books > Mystery, Thriller & Suspense > Mystery > Police Procedurals
#690 in Books > Literature & Fiction > United StatesRed Line Cover High Res

Gina Panettieri I know people who aren’t in the industry have no idea how big a deal a Kindle ranking like this is, so trying to explain this to other people might not sound as exciting, but with literally millions and millions of titles being ranked, a book above 10,000 is really doing well! This is very exciting news!

HEY EVERYONE:

The president of the literary agency that represents me wrote this yesterday. I’m sharing it here, because I want everyone, especially new students, to know this is all possible.

Two years ago, I was entering Thesis Semester with a manuscript that would become Red Line. There were moments when I didn’t know if the thesis committee would accept it. Well, they did, an agent read it and liked it, she sold it to a publisher, the publisher printed it and promoted it, and people are buying it.

If you’re a new student in the MFA program, use your time here to work toward your writing goal. If that is publication, don’t settle for less. Don’t just focus on your diploma and recycle stuff you’re written before to pass courses. Don’t take the easy way out with your thesis and do the bare minimum, such as a collection of short stories when your goal is to be a novelist. Stretch yourself and take a risk. Write something that will be published and use the great MFA mentors and your fellow students for feedback to make it the best possible. You’ll never have that opportunity again. I had ten mentors and twenty fellow students help me write Red Line. I couldn’t have done it without all that help.

I’m sorry I missed the residency, but I just moved to South Carolina and along with trying to unpack and get settled, I was three months behind on the manuscript for my second book, while my publisher was simultaneously pushing me to do more promotion activities on the first book. But I plan to be back, I hope next summer.

Happy writing,

Brian Thiem

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to It is Possible

  1. ctplan says:

    Congratulations, Brian!

  2. janecleland says:

    This is wonderful news, Brian. I’m not surprised — you accepted the feedback and kept revising. Your book is terrific. It’s not everyday I get surprised by an ending — but I did with yours.

  3. brclements says:

    Thanks for the report, Brian, and congrats!

  4. Hey, Brian, when you knock it out of the ballpark, you aren’t just kidding. Congrats on the stats and good luck with the new location. Sure do miss ya.

  5. Angela Macala-Guajardo says:

    That’s so awesome! Congrats, Brian!

Leave a Reply

