Brian Turner Reading and Workshop

Folks, Brian Turner’s reading will be Nov. 3 at 6:30 in Alumni Hall. We rarely have writers of this caliber on campus; I hope you will take advantage of this opportunity. http://www.brianturner.org/poetry/

If you don’t have plans for that evening and live relatively close to Danbury (in CT, or within an hour’s drive), I sincerely hope you will come out and support this program. If we want to continue having top-quality writers visit campus, we need to support it with bodies in seats.

I also encourage you to read one or all of Turner’s books in advance of the reading.

Following the reading, there will be a poetry workshop starting at 7:30 (location to be announced as we approach the reading). There will be only 15 seats in the workshop, and 5 of those are already reserved. I am reserving 5 seats for graduate students; if you are a poet in the program, you should be contacting me immediately to reserve one of those 5 seats. Seats are NOT only for poets–all students are welcome. The remaining 5 seats will be reserved for undergraduates. I am holding all of those reservations until Oct. 29, at which time anyone (including alumni) can sign up for any unfilled seats.

Please plan to join us on the 3rd!

About brclements

Professor and Coordinator MFA in Creative and Professional Writing Western Connecticut State University
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Brian Turner Reading and Workshop

  1. brianthiem says:

    My copy of his book, Here, Bullet, arrived two days ago, and I’m currently reading each poem a second time. Brian Turner captures what it’s like to be a soldier in Iraq accurately and with such emotion that it transported me back to that era of my life. I look forward to seeing him at the reading. Will his new memoir be sold at the reading?

  2. brclements says:

    Yes, Brian, the bookstore will have all three of his books, I would expect, available for purchase at the reading.

  3. btlance says:

    I’ll take a workshop seat if available.

Leave a Reply

