Brian Turner at WCSU

MFA Folk,

Poet and memoirist Brian Turner will be joining us in early November for a reading and a workshop. I hope all of you who are in the area will obtain and read some of his work (Here, Bullet and Phantom Noise in poetry–Here, Bullet was the first significant book to come from an Iraq veteran and is an excellent book, as is PN–and this year’s memoir My Life as a Foreign Country). Keep an eye here for details on workshop signup and location. The reading will be free and open to the public at 6:30 on November 3. The workshop will have limited seating and will start at 7:30. Spread the word…

bc

About brclements

Professor and Coordinator MFA in Creative and Professional Writing Western Connecticut State University
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Brian Turner at WCSU

  1. brianthiem says:

    This should be a great reading and workshop. From what I’ve read about Brian Turner, he arrived in Iraq around the time my tour was finished and I was headed home. When I started the MFA program, my first writing mentor urged me to write about my experiences in Iraq. It was too soon, even though many years had passed by that time, so I have great admiration for someone like Brian Turner who was able to write about it when it was still fresh and raw.

  2. brclements says:

    Thanks for this, Brian. I haven’t read the memoir yet, but, as I said, Here, Bullet is a really excellent book. One of the truly important books of American poetry in the 21st century. I hope everyone will take advantage of this opportunity.

Leave a Reply

