Works Cited Page Numbers

Does anyone know how to get actual page numbers from a Kindle? I’m working on an essay which requires a works cited and I have no idea how to come up with a page number. I get a percentage and when I tap on it, I can see a “loc number.” Any ideas? Thanks everyone!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Works Cited Page Numbers

  1. I tried to follow the Kindle (paperwhite) user’s guide from the Internet and found that it didn’t work. I think some books will give a page count, others will not. You might borrow a hardcover and look up your bookmarks. You might try kindle.com/support or maybe inquire with our special David Griffith (who seems to know so much).

  2. Kindle for some reason uses fractions for page numbers on a lot of older books. Fastest way to look it up might be to do an internet search with a quote from the essay and it will probably pop up.

  3. bethfred08 says:

    MLA says I can cite an ebook. Is this acceptable? http://www.mla.org/style/handbook_faq/cite_an_ebook

  4. dtgriffith says:

    Always fun to see my name show up unexpectedly – thanks Andy!

    If don’t already have it, download and install the Kindle app for your Mac or Windows computer. Your Kindle library sits in “the cloud” where you can access your entire library from any device with a Kindle app at anytime you have a web connection. This includes laptop computers, mobile phones, tablets, desktop computers, and e-readers compatible with Kindle.

    From the Kindle app, select the text in the ebook, copy it, and paste it in Word. You should see following your selected text a whole citation line including author, publisher, date of publication, and page or location numbers. Some ebooks have real page numbers and will show them when you paste into Word; others only have location numbers. So far, I have been successful using location numbers for citations when there wasn’t a page number option.

    Also consider, some ebooks don’t exist in print because they were never released as such. Even big league business authors do this for smaller releases. And in some other cases, some print editions of books are nearly lost from the world, but someone managed to archive a digital version and turn that into an ebook, usually part of a public domain project at that point with a very bad pagination problem.

    I know, more explanation than you’re looking for, but I hope this all helps. Contact me anytime through this WordPress thing or my blog if you have other similar questions. Just click on my name above or below this post, where ever it appears, you’ll reach me. Good luck!

    I think my next book after my thesis on creativity in business will be an advice book on all things web and social media.

    • bethfred08 says:

      Thanks for this David. It’s very helpful. I find it easier to read a Kindle because m baby can’t tear the pages! And I thought I was going to have to buy actual books.

Leave a Reply

