August Residency Readings

Folks, I gathered from the January wrap-up that some of you like going to Alumni Hall for readings and some don’t. I hope those of you who are not graduating will let me know your feelings about this for August–an event or two in Alumni or everything on Westside?

About brclements

Professor Western Connecticut State University
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to August Residency Readings

  1. Not graduating – prefer staying at West because I’m lazy and resist change. But if it’s a magical moment for others, it really doesn’t matter to me.

  2. dtgriffith says:

    Not graduating either. Mid-Town is fine assuming it won’t cause conflicts in meeting with mentors on the West Side Campus.

  3. brianthiem says:

    Not Graduating. It’s sometimes hard with weather during the winter residency, but that’s not an issue in the summer, and I like the venue at Mid-Town once or twice. However, with the additional travel time and restaurants that are sometimes slow, it means getting a later start on the reading and makes some of the old guys stay up past their bedtime.

  4. jhronson says:

    I also would prefer the West Side because of the restaurant timing issue. I also say start the readings at 7 sharp. I need all the sleep I can get.

  5. mageerik says:

    I agree with the above. I think Alumni Hall is a better venue for the readings but it’s easier just to stay at the Westside campus so that’s my vote. I actually like when the readings are held in the student center ballroom where we have lunch, but I think I’m in the minority on that one.

  6. nathancox1 says:

    I won’t be going back until January, but I’m in agreement with those who said that they would prefer to keep everything on the Westside campus. With everything else concerning the residency being on that campus, it just doesn’t make sense to have us drive across town for readings. One of the nice things about the residency was that the campus was so close to the hotel, a benefit that is lost if we go to the other campus.

Leave a Reply

