Esta Vida Boricua makes it to the front page of the RUM Website

As some of you know, I have been working very hard to get institutional support for this largely independent digital life narrative project – Well we finally made it to the “portada” or Home page of the University of Puerto Rico – Mayaguez. There is an article in Spanish, some photographs – and a TV interview.

In the eleven years I have been in Puerto  Rico I have been interviewed on public TV and radio about ten times regarding various publishing projects that I launched. The hosts of these shows – mainly interview me in Spanish. Now I can read Spanish pretty well. I can speak in simple sentences and be understood. I can listen to Spanish and as long as the person is speaking slowly and Im not in a noisy room – I can understand from 50 – 90% depending on the topic. The variable is that percentage that I don’t understand – and in my years there I have unknowingly accepted a job, ordered four pounds of meat rather than 1/4 of a pound adn paid for it anyway out of embarrassment – among other more and less serious misunderstandings –

Imagine talking about something you are very passionate about – to a Spanish speaking audience and then being interviewed in Spanish – ? ON TV! Mind boggling –

In this interview, my host interviews in Spanish but provides a short summary – in English – I think the show did a very good job of summarizing the project and its value overall.

Please Enjoy – 🙂

http://www.uprm.edu/portada/article.php?id=2384

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Esta Vida Boricua makes it to the front page of the RUM Website

  1. You go Sonja! Work it girl.

Leave a Reply

