On-Campus Workshop with Sandy Barron

Folks, on Saturday, November 3, Sandy Barron will offer a workshop on Structure and Plot for the Contemporary Novel. The workshop will take place from 1:00-4:00 in Higgins 206. Seating is limited to 12 participants, so you must RSVP to me at clementsb@wcsu.edu in order to reserve a seat.

Sandy’s description:

This workshop will present a wide array of storytelling approaches. We will briefly consider the classic three-act structure before spending the bulk of the class on the more character-centered hero’s journey pattern. We will discuss key elements in creating dynamic narrative such as yearning, conflict, stakes, and power shifts. The lecture portion of the class will conclude with an examination of non-linear structures such as literary, thematic, juxtapositional, and braided novel structures.  One hour will be reserved for a guided workshop in which participants will plot a large portion of their novels-in-progress (or novel ideas) on index cards.

No preparation is required.

About brclements

Professor and Coordinator MFA in Creative and Professional Writing Western Connecticut State University
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to On-Campus Workshop with Sandy Barron

  1. dtgriffith says:

    Brian, this sounds interesting even though I’m not currently writing a novel. Is it still okay to attend?

    • brclements says:

      of course! I’ll put you down. Let me know if you change your mind.

      • dtgriffith says:

        Thanks Brian. I found out my daughter has her first team skating competition that weekend in Mass., so I may be away. Not sure yet. You can leave me as tentative and I’ll let you know as plans are finalized.

  2. Brian,

    I’m also not writing a novel, but would like to attend the workshop if there’s any space left.

  3. brianthiem says:

    Hi Brian,
    Although I have my novel plotted, I can always use tips and new ideas to improve it, so I’d like to attend. However, if there are others who need this workshop more, especially considering there are only 12 slots, let me know and I’ll bow out.

    Thanks,
    Brian Thiem

  4. brclements says:

    Lauren, Brian, you’re both in.
    bc

  5. ________________________________

Leave a Reply

