New Book Out

Hi, all,

I am excited to report that my book, Tough Love: A Wyoming Childhood, was published this month by Pronghorn Press. The book, a collection of personal essays, began in the very classes of West Conn’s MFA program and eventually became my thesis.

The essays started out as cutesy little stories, really, nothing more than good character sketches of some of the more colorful personalities that influenced my childhood. With the help of a number of fellow students and talented writers and mentors, the pieces morphed into solid essays, works that had meat and staying power. Only with the help of those around me did my work as a whole transform into something that was publishable. Publication did happen — but not without many rejection slips along the way.

I say this to provide current students with motivation and inspiration — the graduate school experience is a growing process. You sort of start out as a baby, I think (at least I did), but through a lot of hard work and phenomenal conversation, you find yourself and your work growing, transforming, getting better.

So keep at it. And let others around you provide feedback. Be open. And watch what comes.

I will be launching my book in Wyoming next week, along with a self-published small business history I recently finished. I know Connecticut is a long way from Wyoming. But to all of those who helped get me this far, my heartfelt thanks. I miss you all.

Kate
www.katemeadows.com

This entry was posted in awards, Daniel Asa Rose, Paola Corso, reading, rejection letters, thesis, writing by degrees and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to New Book Out

  1. jgroche says:

    Congratulations, Kate!

  2. sonjamongar2 says:

    Congratulations Kate! How do I get an autographed copy! Any book signings -in the near future or somewhere I can mail my check?

  3. timweed says:

    That’s wonderful, Kate! Way to persist.

  4. brclements says:

    Congrats, kate! Glad to see your hard work paying off!

  5. katemeadows says:

    Thanks so much. John, will never forget the joy of having you in the audience the night I read my “Taming” essay at the 2010 residency. Thanks for the support. Sonja, so good to hear from you! You can order a copy online at http://www.katemeadows.com under the “Books & Offerings” link. If you’d rather send a check, go ahead and email me and I’ll give you a mailing address. =) Brian and Tim, thank you. And special congratulations to Tim for making the short list for the fiction contest!

  6. Larissa Lytwyn says:

    Congratulations! So happy for you.

  7. janecleland says:

    This is such great news. Congratulations.

Leave a Reply

