What Have You Done Lately?

Hello All,

Exciting news from MFA headquarters: We are looking to establish a scholarship fund for the program, and would like to feature the accomplishments of our students, faculty, and alumni in the proposal.

Please post your pub credits, academic accolades, and any other accomplishments you find worthy of note, so we can brag a bit about the program and those affiliated with it.

I hope that this thread will also serve as a resource for each of us–a central location to introduce us to our peers’ work.

Keep Writing,

Sara

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to What Have You Done Lately?

  1. ianpeterkin says:

    In addition to my numerous rejection letters from several literary magazines, I’m a regular contributor to MixedMartialArts.com, as a blogger. I’m also working on a marketing piece for the fine state of Connecticut’s department of economic development’s commission on culture and tourism.
    -Ian

  2. Hi Whitey! Here is my third person bio that I use with submissions. Feel free to use any info:

    Jennifer A. Powers was born and raised in Connecticut. She earned a BA in English from the University of Connecticut and is attending Western Connecticut State University for her MFA in creative writing. She has work published or forthcoming in The MacGuffin, Foliate Oak, Wild Violet, Linden Avenue, and Folio literary journals. Please visit http://www.jennpowers.com for more information.

    I don’t know if you want to include any self-publications but I have three available through Amazon and B&N: Hard Heavy Crazy, Watch Everything Spin, and An American Suburb.

    Thanks!

  3. laurabhayden says:

    Hi Whitey,
    This is the same as my faculty bio. Cut at will.

    Laura B. Hayden is the author of Staying Alive: A Love Story, a memoir of loss and recovery that began as her thesis in the WCSU MFA program. The book has been recommended by the American Institute of Health Care Professionals and was nominated for the 2012 Christian Small Publishers Association Book of the Year. Laura writes for technorati.com and opentohope.org. She teaches at Asnuntuck Community College in Enfield, CT and blogs at http://www.mommyofthebride.blogspot.com.

  4. dtgriffith says:

    Hey there, I don’t have a formal writing bio at the moment due to my non-conventionality – perhaps it’s time to take care of that. I have a published short story “Johnny Versus the Creatures” that appears in the Western Legends Publishing anthology Unnatural Tales of the Jackalope, published in July 2012. I have another story from the same small press in a forthcoming horror anthology due out at the end of 2012 – more info to be announced soon.

    When not writing dark fiction, I’m writing a plethora of nonfiction in the corporate communication world. I’m the early stages of developing a book proposal on creativity in the workplace.

    There’s my blog too, which focuses mostly on writing craft: http://www.xzistenz.com and my “portfolio” site with a general professional bio, http://www.dtgriffith.com.

    I hope this helps. If you need more details or a formal writing bio let me know.

  5. mageerik says:

    Hi Sara,
    That’s great news about a scholorship fund! I’m including more info than you probably need, but I’m figuring better too much info than too little. So here goes:
    I work full time as freelance writer. I have on average about 6 to 10 journalism stories published each week and my work regularly appears in The Hartford Courant, Connecticut Magazine, Edible Nutmeg Magazine, The News-Times, The Connecticut Post, The Stamford Advocate, Chronogram Magazine, AOL’s Patch.com, the Waterbury Republican-American, Fairfield Magazine and Ridgefield Magazine. During my career I have interviewed Harvey Keitel, Steve Martin, Joe Cocker, Gregg Allman, Ringo Starr, Kevin Costner, Chevy Chase, Kevin Bacon, Christopher Plummer, Mia Farrow, Craig Ferguson, Justin Hayward (of the Moody Blues) Chazz Palminteri, Sam Waterston, Aaron Neville, Frank McCourt, Mike Love (of the Beach Boys), John Melendez, Ziggy Marley, P. Diddy, Adam Lambert, Jason Mraz, and Frank Caliendo among many, many others.
    Also, this year I’ll be in the press box at MetLife Stadium covering all home games for the New York Jets as a paid expert blogger for SportsBlog.com, my blog’s address is : WearingofTheGreen.SportsBlog.com
    As an undergraduate student I attended Western Connecticut State University. I received a four year full merit scholarship to the University. While in school I also received the University’s Warner Award which is given for academic excellence in history. In addition I was the winner of two, “Best Spot News” stories of the year awards for my writing in “The Echo,” WCSU’s student newspaper – one story exposed a scandal involving faculty drinking, the other detailed a campus stabbing. I graduated from WCSU Summa Cum Laude with a 3.97 GPA.

    Prior to applying to the MFA program at WCSU I had considered studying journalism at Columbia University or NYU but WCSU’s incredible and diversely talented faculty, as well as the visionary nature and uniqueness of WCSU’s MFA program led me to choose WestConn. I’m so happy with the choice. I am currently working on putting together my first nonfiction book proposal under the guidance of one of my mentors in the program, Michael Cappuzzo, the New York Times best-selling author of “Murder Room” and “Close to Shore.” Hopefully it won’t be long before you see this book in stores.

  6. Larissa Lytwyn says:

    Hi Sara,
    Great news about the scholarship!

    Writing this made me realize there is so much more I want to accomplish. 🙂

    Larissa Lytwyn has a diverse background in journalism and corporate communication. Her work has appeared in numerous Connecticut publications including HealthyLife magazine, New Canaan News and Fairfield County Weekly, as well as national publications Antique Trader and music magazine Goldmine. Her first passion is creative nonfiction, and she is currently working on her first memoir. To learn more, please visit her website at http://www.larissalytwyn.com.

  7. katemeadows says:

    Hi Sara,

    Exciting news about the scholarship. I am a 2010 graduate of the West Conn MFA program, and my first book – originally my thesis for the MFA – is just out. Tough Love: A Wyoming Childhood is a collection of personal essays published by Pronghorn Press. This year I also self-published a small business history, documenting the 50-year life of a rural small engine repair and retail shop. That book is called Bucky’s: Stories and Recollections from 50 Years in Business. My articles and essays have also appeared in Chicken Soup for the Soul, Writer’s Digest and many regional magazines and newspapers. http://www.katemeadows.com.

    Thanks for the opportunity to share!

  8. jgroche says:

    My panel, “Write Where You Know: When Setting Serves as a Main Character in a Novel,” has been accepted for the 2013 AWP National Conference and Book Fair. Joining me on the panel will be Pulitzer Prize-winning novelist Richard Russo, Thomas Kelly, the author of two New York Times Notable Books and another critically praised novel about his native city, and PEN/Hemingway Award winner Jennifer Haigh, whose most recent novel, Faith, is set in Boston, where the AWP conference takes place in March.
    (A few side notes: Both Tom Kelly and Jennifer Haigh have been involved with the WCSU MFA program, and I know Jennifer made a very strong impression on many students at last winter’s residency. Also, as some of you might know, Dennis Lehane [Mystic River, Shutter Island] had agreed to serve on my panel, but citing an unforeseen conflict, withdrew the same week the slate of accepted events was announced by AWP. With a bit of tenacity, I was able to replace Lehane with both Russo and Haigh within 24 hours, having never met either writer. My point is that very often, aiming high and simply asking can net some very cool results.)

Leave a Reply

