New Publication

Hello everyone!

I’d like to announce another publication. Foliate Oak Literary Magazine has published my short story “Sacrifice,” which you can read here:

http://foliateoak.weebly.com/jennifer-powers.html

Thanks all!

Jenn

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to New Publication

  1. Jenn, Congratulations on yet –another publication! You’re on a roll, it’s great. Loved the babuska,the pierogis,the golabkis–felt at home again. Andy

  2. dtgriffith says:

    Jenn, congrats on the publication. I just read the story, paints a somber late-life portrait, quite visual. Interesting decision to write in second-person in present tense. If you don’t mind me asking, was there a particular reason for this choice?

    Nice to see another CT writer joining this MFA program and I look forward to meeting you in August. Just followed you on Twitter, by the way. Several other MFA students and faculty are on there, good way to stay connected. I have a list on there with with everyone I can add you to.

    Best,
    David

  3. jnny1107 says:

    Thank you both!
    DT–I just like using the second person sometimes. It grabs the reader by the collar like I’m making the reader the character. I’ve read other writers using second person and when I tried it, it just came out naturally. My story “Some of Us,” which is being published in The MacGuffin in the spring/summer issue uses second person too. I’m glad I use it every now and then. It gives me a break from first and third! But I like all three. 🙂

Leave a Reply

