Poet on Campus, December 2

Poet Christine Boyka Kluge will read from her work in Haas 508 (Midtown Campus) on December 2 at 5:30.

Writing majors and students in the MFA program are also invited to join the WRT519 Topics in Creative Writing: Flash Fiction and Prose Poetry course following the reading for a discussion with Ms. Kluge. RSVP clementsb@wcsu.edu

from “Giving Away Bones”

I stood at the corner giving away my bones. My ribs went to the little girl who needed a cage for her ferret. My toe bones went to a gambler to replace his unlucky dice. My spine went home coiled around the neck of a snake charmer. As I plucked out each one, I felt delightfully emptier, translucent as breath. I simply stepped out of my ivory closet.
The only piece I had trouble leaving was my skull. It stared at me with cavernous sockets like twin black wells.

Christine Boyka Kluge is the author of three books of prose poems: Stirring the Mirror, Teaching Bones to Fly, and Domestic Weather. Her work has appeared in numerous anthologies. She is also a visual artist and she has collaborated on multimedia work. She lives in the Hudson Valley.

About brclements

Professor and Coordinator MFA in Creative and Professional Writing Western Connecticut State University
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

